Davao Mac User

Icon

Viewing super large preview icons

A few months back I’ve started dabbling in digital photography. I’ve been taking shots of food, scenery, people; the whole lot.

Being a little too trigger happy, I tend to take too many photos. I blame this on shaky hands. Most of my photos end up blurry.

When it comes to choosing the right photos to edit and then post online, I have a hard time plowing through all the stuff I’ve photographed.

My workflow involves uploading the photos to iPhoto, selecting the right picture, then drag and drop those to the desktop where they have to undergo some post-processing (app of choice is Pixelmator).

I tend to end up with several copies of photos on my desktop and choosing which photo to edit can be a pain. That’s because normally when using the icon view on Finder, the largest size one can manage to blow up an icon is 128×128 pixels. I only have a 17″ iMac and that makes it hard to see the photos. I could use Cover Flow but I find it too distracting.

Good thing I ran into a Macworld hint that allows me to view the preview icons 512×512 pixels big.

It’s not exactly straightforward and involves a few steps but it’s quite easy to do. Check it out.

Filed under: OS X, ,

Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

