Davao Mac User

Icon

Cropping multiple PDF pages in Preview

I found this very good tip on Macworld yesterday on how to crop multiple pages in Preview.

The reason why I found this tip useful is because I wanted to get rid of the 1″ to 1 1/2″ margins seen in most of the PDF documents I download. The margins are a waste of space and that wasted space tend to make the pages look small on my 17″ iMac. It’s not a big deal to zoom in but I tend to read a lot of PDFs and that can become time consuming.

Another way this tip has helped me is when I’m reading some of these PDF documents on my iPod touch. If the text on documents with margins already look small on a 17″ screen, what more on a 3 1/2″ screen?

I can read un-cropped PDFs on the iPod touch but that would require me to pinch, zoom in and as I read the page I have to flick the page to the left and then right and then left and then right and then… well, you get the point.

With cropped PDFs, all I have to do most of the time is put the iPod touch in landscape mode and then I can read the document without having to zoom in. The text is kind of small but it is readable.

Normal page

Cropped

One limitation of course is for documents that have really small letters. There’s no choice but to pinch, zoom in and flick flick flick.

Filed under: OS X,

2 Responses

  1. migs says:

    Waaaaa..

    mewon for windows?

  2. jimhaw says:

    Preview is a Mac only application. You can try using Adobe Acrobat though. There could be some freeware apps for WIndows that can do the same trick but I don’t know any.

Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

