Davao Mac User

Icon

Copyright issues in the series of tubes and blogosphere.

I’m maintaining two blogs and contributing to one other. One of the blogs I’m doing is a blog for MTC Academy Davao. The contents that I am posting are mostly news about the information and technology industry, especially regarding the medical transcriptioning, here in Davao. I am subscribed to Sunstar Davao’s RSS feed for updates. If I find a report that I’d like to post I will get snippets of that report and then put a link back to the article. I also use Google to search for other news that Sunstar Davao might have missed. One of my latest post talks about an effort of one of the mall makers in the Philippines in putting up another IT park here in Davao. I searched for other sources about the topic and one of the top hits yielded a blog from Davao. I wanted to get another perspective on the matter and checked the site out. When I read the first paragraph it seemed so familiar. I then realized that the article was taken from Sunstar Davao. This was a case of cut and paste.

I don’t know how most people feel about this but this is copyright infringement. I always make it a point that whenever I discuss an article or report I read off the internet, I only get snippets and attribute the story directly to the source. It is perhaps most people here don’t know or care about intellectual property so it’s almost a none issue. For me, it matters.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

